Skip to content

Do You Vocalize?

September 20, 2011

How do you give voice to the LIES that cause you stress, raise your blood pressure, give you a pain in your neck, ache your head, knot up your shoulders, make you sick to your stomach? How do you get the LIES that limit your happiness and peace of mind up and out of you?

Recently, I had a wonderful conversation with a new client. She was amazingly open and honest about who she is – her passions, preferences, goals and concerns. She seemed to call it like she sees it, without judging others or making them wrong.

Our meeting lasted for over an hour and half. At the end of it, she said, “Oh, this has been great, so helpful. I feel clear, stronger, better. I know what I want to do.”

“Good,” I replied. “I’m glad to have been a listener, a witness to what you had to say.”

Her eyes popped wide open. “That’s it! I needed to vocalize what I’m wrestling with in order to work my way through it. Talking with you helped me empty out the garbage that was cluttering up the works. I couldn’t see the issue clearly or sort out my feelings.”

She’s right. We all need ways to clear out the garbage – the Labels, Illusions, Excuses and Stories – that create confusion and blur our vision. Her idea of vocalizing is a good one and there are so many ways to do it. There are so many ways to give voice to what’s on your mind.

“Typically, how do you express your thoughts and feelings – get them out,” I asked.

“I talk, like I did with you today.” She answered. “I sing, with or without music. I don’t care how I sound when I sing. I just make noise with my voice. It makes me feel better.”

“I sigh. Sometimes I scream, especially when I’m in the car. I scream and drive. It helps me to release tension and it opens up my voice,” I added.

She laughed and said, “I’ve done that too. It does feel good. Gotta add that one back onto my list.”

“And,” I continued, “Journaling is a way of vocalizing, too…a way of voicing what’s on your mind…a way of getting at stuck stuff – the LIES that are stuck in your head – out of your energy field – your body, mind and emotions – and down on paper. Once they’re out of your head and off your heart, you’ll have more space to think clearly.”

Vocalizing is good for all of us!  Do you vocalize? My suggestion: Talk, sing, sigh, scream, journal. Vocalize!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

